Exactly how install jsx-tikzcd using npm?

(Murray Eisenberg) #1

Under macOS I’ve downloaded the jsx-tikzcd package (https://github.com/yishn/jsx-tikzcd), into a folder named “jsx-tikzcd-master”. Its docs say to install it using the command:

npm install jsx-tikzcd

If I cd to my home directory, or to that directory, and try executing that npm command, I get error:

Refusing to install package with name "jsx-tikzcd" under a package
npm ERR! also called "jsx-tikzcd". Did you name your project the same
npm ERR! as the dependency you're installing?

Being a complete newbie to npm, I don’t understand what else I’m supposed to do to avoid that error and complete the installation.

The file tree of jsx-tikzcd-master is:
├── LICENSE
├── README.md
├── demo.png
├── dist
│ ├── jsx-tikzcd.js
│ └── jsx-tikzcd.js.map
├── package-lock.json
├── package.json
├── rollup.config.js
├── src
│ ├── components.js
│ ├── h.js
│ ├── index.js
│ └── render.js
└── test
└── test.js

File package.json begins:

{
  "name": "jsx-tikzcd",
  "version": "0.5.0",
  "description": "Render tikzcd diagrams with JSX.",
  "main": "./dist/jsx-tikzcd",
  "module": "./src/index",
  "repository": {
    "type": "git",
    "url": "git+https://github.com/yishn/jsx-tikzcd.git"
  },

(Lars Willighagen) #2

You don’t have to download the code from GitHub to use it in your project. If you have a project directory already, run

npm install jsx-tikzcd

from there. This automatically downloads the code to the right place. If you don’t have a project directory yet, here’s a guide on how to create one.

You should also be able to install the code to your home directory. However, I see that doesn’t work. Are you getting the same error as before, “Refusing to install package with name “jsx-tikzcd” under a package also called “jsx-tikzcd”.”? If so, is there a package.json file in your home directory?

(Murray Eisenberg) #3

I find no package.json file in my home directory (i.e., at the top level /Users/me).