Error installing NPM

mymac:node-image-upload-imgur mymac$ npm install
Unhandled rejection Error: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir '/Users/mymac/.npm/_cacache/index-v5/3c/39'

Unhandled rejection Error: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir '/Users/mymac/.npm/_cacache/index-v5/24/af'

Unhandled rejection Error: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir '/Users/mymac/.npm/_cacache/index-v5/47/4d'

Unhandled rejection Error: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir '/Users/mymac/.npm/_cacache/index-v5/9a/d0'

npm ERR! cb() never called!

npm ERR! This is an error with npm itself. Please report this error at:
npm ERR!     <https://npm.community>

I don’t even know what npm is, but i know i have to install it for something. And when I run # npm install I get the above output in Terminal. I really don’t know how to overcome this issue, I’m new to using Terminal on my Mac. Any help will be appreciated, thank you.

This is likely an issue with folder ownership being broken by past uses of sudo with global installs. This was fixed in: Release: 6.10.2

The quick fix is to reclaim ownership:

sudo chown -R $USER ~/.npm

If you are able to update npm to avoid the problem happening again, upgrade npm and then run the chown again one last time to fix any issues from the upgrade itself. (If you want help with that, let me know what “npm prefix -g” shows.)

1 Like
mymac:~ mymac$ sudo chown -R $USER ~/.npm
mymac:~ mymac$ npm prefix -g
/usr/local

mymac:node-image-upload-imgur mymac$ npm install
npm WARN deprecated jade@1.11.0: Jade has been renamed to pug, please install the latest version of pug instead of jade
npm WARN deprecated constantinople@3.0.2: Please update to at least constantinople 3.1.1
npm WARN deprecated transformers@2.1.0: Deprecated, use jstransformer
npm notice created a lockfile as package-lock.json. You should commit this file.
added 135 packages from 166 contributors and audited 221 packages in 11.53s
found 9 vulnerabilities (5 low, 3 moderate, 1 critical)