to minimize churn in the lockfile due to different npm versions, my team uses
nvm to stay on the same version of node as well as the version of
npm that is packaged with that version. while we would love to always be on the latest
npm version, we wait until a version of node is available that includes the updated
npm version so that we all upgrade consistently.
because of this, we would prefer not to encourage anyone to upgrade ahead of the rest of the team, so it would be nice if we could disable the upgrade from
npm. i’m aware that the prompt can be disabled with a cli flag, but i haven’t found a documented way to disable using
.npmrc. is this already possible, or would it need to be added?